l Know What It’s Like

I know what it’s like to feel angry,

I know what it’s like to always be in the pouring rain,

I know what it’s like to have every mistake pointed out,

I know what it’s like to be kicked when l am at my lowest,

I know what it’s like to be misunderstood, 

And l know what it’s like to be alone.
I know what it’s like to be a wreck,

I know what it’s like to be unstable on my own two feet,

I know the unkindness of judgment, 

I know the feeling of abandonment, 

I know what it’s like to take all the blame,

And I’ve learnt to keep everything inside. 
I know the struggles of a divorced and a dysfunctional family, 

I know the frustration of death, 

I know the emptiness of lies,

I know the unkindness of abuse,

I know the cruelty of lost hope,

And I’ve felt the despair of unworthiness. 
I know what it’s like to wish your life away,

I know what it’s like to salvage the last bit of strength, 

I know what it’s like to fade away,

But you will never know what it’s like for me,

Because l know, what it takes to put on a brave face and a fake smile,

I know what it takes to be somewhat okay. Do you?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

